Executive Committee


Sarah Fraser-Butlin (Chair)

Employment law barrister at Cloisters and Affiliated Lecturer in Labour law at the University of Cambridge. She is considered to be an outstanding advocate, who is pragmatic and has excellent client skills. She has also published regularly on a variety of employment law topics. Click here for further details 

Anna Beale (Vice-Chair)

Anna is a barrister at Cloisters chambers and a fee-paid Employment Judge. She has specialised in employment and discrimination law for almost twenty years and is recommended as a leading Employment junior by Chambers UK and the Legal 500. Anna is the co-author of “Employment Law and Human Rights” (3rd ed, OUP, 2018), “Age and Employment” (European Commission, 2011) and “Discrimination in Employment: a claims handbook” (LAG, 2013).

Robert Lewis (Vice-Chair)

Managing Associate at Mishcon de Reya LLP advising employers and senior executives on all aspects of employment law, with a particular interest in the financial services, education and sports sectors. Robert trained at Farrer & Co and qualified in 2013. Prior to converting to law, Robert taught history at a secondary school in Birmingham.

Nike Balogun (Treasurer): Employment Judge

Rachel Wedderspoon (Secretary): Employment Judge

Ordinary Members

Shubha Banerjee: I am a 20 year pqe employment lawyer and am undertaking a degree in Culture, Diaspora and Ethnicity and working as an inclusion manager for Leigh Day.

Iain Birrell: Partner and the National Case Management Coordinator for Thompsons’s specialist Trade Union Law Group with 21 years’ experience. Also a member of the Employment Law Committee of the Law Society.

Susan Harris: Solicitor, Director of Legal Services GMB since March 2018, particularly dealing with collective issues. Previously employed at Thompsons Solicitors for 28 years acting for union members on an individual and collective basis. Susan is committed to maintaining the wide spectrum of participation in ILS from trade unions, lawyers and academics.

EJ Andrew James: Former Solicitor at Slater & Gordon (UK) LLP. Elected onto the Committee in 2019 after being a co-opted member of the ILS Executive Committee for many years due to his role in organising Sheffield meetings for the Society.

EJ Omar Khalil: Former Head of Legal for Make UK’s (previously EEF) Key Accounts. He was also responsible for managing Make UK’s HR and legal teams in the South (Reading & Bristol). 

Omar joined EEF in 1999 as a legal adviser. A qualified solicitor, he worked in a private practice in Chiswick, London for 6 years before joining EEF, specialising in civil litigation, property law and employment law. At EEF, who represent 2500 manufacturing, engineering and technology businesses, he has acquired vast experience of working in employment litigation, non-contentious employment law and employment relations in England, Scotland and Wales. He is a member of the Employment Lawyers Association, as well as sitting on the National User Group for Employment Tribunals in England and Wales. In the past, he’s represented EEF’s views on policy developments to the Ministry of Justice. Omar was appointed on to the Executive Committee of the Industrial Law society (ILS) in 2015 and re-elected in 2019. He has also spoken on Brexit & Employment Law at the Westminster Employment Forum.

Dr John McMullen: We are deeply saddened to inform you of the death of Dr John McMullen who died suddenly in April 2022.

John was a long standing and valued member of the ILS, having been an Executive Committee member for over 30 years.  He was instrumental in setting up the Society’s Leeds regional meetings in the late 1990s which he enthusiastically continued to organise, together with other ILS colleagues until the beginning of the recent lock-down.

John was a speaker at numerous ILS meetings, a contributor of ILJ, Editor of Harvey on Industrial Relations and Employment Law and his publications include: Business Transfers and Employee Rights, the leading work on TUPE and Redundancy: The Law and Practice.

John will be very much missed by the Society and the wider employment law community.

Declan O’Dempsey: Barrister at Cloisters and a fee paid EJ (Scotland and in NE Region England). Declan has served as an Executive Committee member. My aim: to increase membership diversity nationally; increase the regions’ role and ensure ILS uses all platforms for dissemination and gathering of employment law ideas.

Rakesh Patel: Partner and Client Relations and Talent Director at Thompsons Solicitors LLP, a trade union and social justice law firm.

Michael Reed: Legal Officer, Employment at the Free Representation Unit

Madeline Stanley: Junior Barrister at Old Square Chambers

Anita Vadgama: Legal Director at Didlaw Limited, acting predominantly for Claimants, particularly those with disability and sex discrimination claims. Committed to maintaining the wide spectrum of involvement and participation in the Society from lawyers, trade unions and academics on all aspects of employment law and increasing my involvement with the Society.   

Emma Zarb: Senior Associate at Orrick, Herrington and Sutcliffe (UK) Ltd advising on all aspects of employment law. Elected to the Executive Committee in 2019 to try to encourage more junior members of the profession to attend future ILS seminars and events.